Hagerty Receives Top Committee Assignments for the 117th Congress

February 3, 2021

WASHINGTON – United States Senator Bill Hagerty (R-TN) today announced his committee assignments for the 117th Congress, which include highly sought after appointments to Senate Committees on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs; Foreign Relations; Appropriations; and Rules. These coveted committees complement Hagerty’s strength and experience in key fields of national security, economic prosperity, and job creation.

“These committees will leverage my extensive background and experience in business, diplomacy, finance, trade, and job creation, and best position me to have a significant impact not only for the people of Tennessee but all Americans,” said Senator Hagerty. “The issues that will come before these committees will be challenging, but ones that the American people expect to be responsibly addressed. The staff I have assembled also brings incredible expertise and prior experience in these areas, which will be an asset as we work to hold the Biden Administration accountable, get our economy roaring again, stand with our allies while standing up to our foreign adversaries, and—most importantly—ensure the needs of Tennesseans are met.”

Hagerty is the former U.S. Ambassador to Japan and a life-long businessman. He started his business career with the Boston Consulting Group, where his work took him to five continents. He later became a venture capital and private equity investor where he invested in and served as an executive and board member of a wide range of companies. Hagerty also previously served as a member of the Tennessee Governor’s Cabinet and commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, where he was one of the country’s top job creators.

About Hagerty’s Committees

U.S. Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, & Urban Affairs

The Banking Committee, formally established in 1913, plays an integral role in managing legislation that affects the lives of many Americans. These areas of jurisdiction include, but are not limited to: banking, insurance, financial markets, securities, housing, urban development and mass transit, international trade and finance, and economic policy as well as jurisdiction over the United States’ international sanctions policy.

U.S. Senate Committee on Foreign Relations

The Senate Foreign Relations Committee was established in 1816 and has been instrumental in developing and influencing United States foreign policy. The committee has considered, debated, and reported important treaties and legislation over the years, and it also holds jurisdiction over all diplomatic nominations. Through these powers, the committee has helped shape foreign policy of broad significance, in matters of war and peace and international relations.

U.S. Senate Committee on Appropriations

The Senate Appropriations Committee is the largest committee in the U.S. Senate, originating in 1867. It role is defined by the U.S. Constitution, which requires “appropriations made by law” prior to the expenditure of any money from the Federal treasury. The Committee writes the legislation that allocates federal funds to the numerous government agencies, departments, and organizations on an annual basis, including spending made available for the military and diplomacy, limited to the levels set by the Senate Budget Committee. Twelve subcommittees are tasked with drafting legislation to allocate funds to government agencies within their jurisdictions. These subcommittees are responsible for reviewing the President’s budget request, hearing testimony from government officials and other witnesses, and drafting the spending plans for the coming fiscal year.

U.S. Senate Committee on Rules & Administration

The Rules Committee is one of the oldest committees of the U.S. Senate, dating back to 1789. In addition to oversight of the rules and procedures of the Senate, the committee has jurisdiction over federal elections, and the management and security of the U.S. Capitol complex, which includes the Library of Congress and the Smithsonian Institutions.